Electioneering Ploy #3

Prime Minister Keith Mitchell announced at a rally on Sunday that “the government” will be paying out EC$8m in backpay to public workers, including teachers and police officers. This backpay disbursement is supposed to occur on Wednesday June 18.

The current government has been battling with the teachers’ and nurses’ unions for years about backpay and retroactive salary increases. Now, 3 weeks before the national election, $8m has suddenly materialised in our Treasury? Really??

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in grenada, politics
3 comments on “Electioneering Ploy #3
  1. abeni says:

    Oh yeah…Not surprising.Will it get him re elected is the question:?

  2. yygda says:

    Kami – we can only hope people ain’t so stupid. Parliament has been dissolved for the past 2 weeks. Where has this money magically appeared from – unapproved by Parliament – to settle some long standing union disputes?

  3. m says:

    Classic, criminal.

Leave a comment

About BBB
yingyangHi there! BlahBlohBlog here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 50-somethingish, uber-liberal mum and menopausal nerd-gurl. In my time off I indulge my internet, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at GenX relevance, and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading

I used to have a big, long blogroll but no-one cares about that sh*t anymore. If you really want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart Caribbean folks there.

Archives