The announcement Grenada has been waiting for!

Well it’s official! Prime Minister Keith Mitchell announced the long-awaited date of the next general election – July 8th 2008.

This gives us a month’s worth of corn-beef-and-rum campaignery, general candidate assholery, over-the-top promises, grand pronouncements, extraordinary personal attacks and of course – good, old, straightforward lying. Oh yes folks, silly season is upon us. And I, for one, cannot WAIT! 😀

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in grenada, politics
6 comments on “The announcement Grenada has been waiting for!
  1. abeni says:

    Y’all having free entertainment too? If so enjoy the show

  2. eemanee says:

    yes, abeni. no elections without free concerts with impressive intl/regional lineups.

  3. m says:

    I can’t get used to the idea that elections in Grenada are scheduled on an ad hoc basis. I don’t get it.

    Of course, I come from the U.S., home of the electoral college, the holy of holies of deranged vestigial political apparati, so hey.

    Don’t you think that if half of the people in this country who complain all the time about the government actually voted Mitchell would lose in a landslide?

  4. yygda says:

    @abeni/eemanee: Oh yeah, the impressive free concerts have been going for a while, mostly from the NNP who are the sitting government as they have limitless cash to spend. (I wonder why?)

    @m: No fear, most of us don’t get it either. This is why I support the constant calls for constitutional/electoral reform, which would, we hope, change the Westminister style of representation to a more equitable form of local government on a parish/village level. Oh! I have your yellow t-shirt for you by the way! 🙂

  5. experienceaurie says:

    you experienced one election, you’ve experienced them all. we can all relate!! haha. very nice. as long as we are hard pressed to find violence…since we are supposed to be civilized.

  6. jdid says:

    sound like fun times

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
