Regional Dialect Meme

Stolen (but can one really steal a meme?) from TriniLikeSalt http://trinilikesalt.tumblr.com/post/2609470317/regional-dialect-video-meme-trinidad-and-tobago:

What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house? Something Americans do.

What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball? WTF? Congarees do that but are they a bug?

What is the bubbly carbonated drink called? Sof’ drink

What do you call gym shoes? Jim shoes. Keds.

What do you say to address a group of people? Allyuh

What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs? A spider (?)

What do you call your grandparents? Granny/Grandpa

What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket? Trolley

What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining? The devil and his wife fighting.

What is the thing you change the TV channel with? Remote. Clicker.

Posted in blah blah
4 comments on “Regional Dialect Meme
  1. lifeonarock says:

    This is fun. I’ve picked up a lot of different saying’s from living in different places.

    What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house? Something Americans do. – True, toilet papering! Not fun to clean up, especially if it rains.

    What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball? Potato bugs, or rollie pollies. I don’t know what they’re actually called. I loved playing with them as a kid.

    What is the bubbly carbonated drink called? Pop

    What do you call gym shoes? Tennis shoes

    What do you say to address a group of people? “Hey you guys”

    What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs? Daddy long legs

    What do you call your grandparents? Nana and Grandpa

    What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket? Grocery cart

    What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining? Sun shower, I like your answer more

    What is the thing you change the TV channel with? Clicker

  2. jdid says:

    when the rain falling an the sun shining the devil and his wife fighting over a cou cou stick

  3. wizzy says:

    Interesting to see that some of the things are the same for Trinis and Grenadians

  4. StunnerJ says:

    Hey! just passing through, has been a while…

Leave a comment

About BBB
yingyangHi there! BlahBlohBlog here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 50-somethingish, uber-liberal mum and menopausal nerd-gurl. In my time off I indulge my internet, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at GenX relevance, and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading

I used to have a big, long blogroll but no-one cares about that sh*t anymore. If you really want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart Caribbean folks there.

Archives