Water

It’s 4:30pm on a payday Friday and I just remembered it’s Blog Action Day and this year’s topic is water. Needless to say, like the true neglectful blogger I have become, I have not prepared a proper blog post. I have no detailed research about water consumption, the increasing pollution and degradation of our watersheds, our need for local and regional conservation in light of climate change, etc., etc.

I have nothing.

Oh – wait!

carib beer

Did you know that it takes between 8 to 24 gallons of water to make a pint of beer? That’s water used in every aspect of the process – from growing the grain to bottling the product. The cultivation of the ingredients themselves takes a staggering 89% of the water used! Suddenly that t-shirt slogan “Conserve water. Drink beer” seems a touch ironic.

ALMOST as ironic as the fact that the bar next door is having a Carib 3 for $10 Happy Hour.

Tagged with:
Posted in blog action day, random
One comment on “Water
  1. elenasc says:

    Thanks to be part of Blog Action Day!
    Please read and share my post about Water’s footprint in Fashion: you’d be surprised at how much impact your personal or family clothing preferences have on the environment. http://wp.me/pXsUB-oi
    You can make the difference!

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
