Farewell, but not Good-bye

On Sunday March 15th, at a god-awful hour in the early morning, Maria from PiscesInPurple will be leaving Grenada, bound for a new renewed chapter of her life in the U.S. She writes about her impending departure here.

Maria, we’ve had some amazing times together – on and offline. From Carnival Sunday ’06 at Yacht Club (!!),  the Beenie Man (*snicker*) and Tempo (Silverado!) concerts, Jack’s Birthday Party, Obama ’08, the wonderful Xmas ’08 cook-up, the hilarious Tweet-up, to birthday cakes, ground turkey burgers, black Macbooks and of course, Old Navy.  There have been countless bottles of wine, gallons of beer, one bottle of Malibu, far too many cigarettes, many tears and frustration, numerous inside jokes (“P.A.” anyone?), and much, much laughter. You entered my life at one of my darkest, difficult times, and reminded me that it was OK to relax and just be “me”. For that alone I will always be grateful.

Your son is my 4th or 5th cousin – my daughter has delighted in looking at her “Jackie” grow from an infant (“Is Jack ever going to speak?”) to a beautiful, lively, little boy (“Jackie is soooo cutey-wootey-pootey”).  And even though I know you and your mum will do so, please keep The Grenadian alive in Jack, the cultural and ethnic cord that ties him to us and to this country. He will always have a home here.

So, until we meet again – and we WILL – accept all Jah’s blessings and our love to you, Jack and Kay.

Tweet ya later babe.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in blah blah, random
5 comments on “Farewell, but not Good-bye
  1. ruthibelle says:

    And you forgot to say that she better keep blogging… 🙂

    This was a nice post though

  2. […] Farewell, but not Good-bye « Blah Bloh Blog. […]

  3. jdid says:

    nice, too bad she’s going

  4. Stunner says:

    I wish her all the best in this renewed chapter and with the advances in technology you guys should be able to keep in touch.

  5. maria says:

    Stunner’s right. Jah bless the internet.

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
