What I did on my Christmas vacation.

We had the week after Christmas off from work so I took a little vacation to Carriacou with Little YY. One of my friends JG decided to take a little vacation from her two Little Ones and went along with us to Cayak-land.

Carriacou is one of the 3 islands that make up the country of Grenada, or more correctly the nation of Grenada, Carriacou and Petite Martinique.  Carriacou-ans, or Cayaks as they are colloquially called, have developed a reputation on the “mainland” for distancing themselves from what we would refer to as regular Grenadian life. For instance, Carriacou celebrates it’s own carnival directly before Lent, like Trinidad, instead of in August like Grenada.  There are major cultural traditions that exist only in Carriacou and Petite Martinique such as the Maroon Festival, Parang, Boat-building, and assorted other Afro-centric customs.  And, more to the point, Cayaks and Petite Martiniquians have been agitating for years – sometimes in jest, sometimes not – for secession from Grenada!

Anyways, we made reservations at the Carriacou Grand View as I was particularly enchanted by the prospect of lounging by the pool doing nothing and sipping cocktails!  We left 9am Saturday morning aboard the Osprey shuttle ferry and arrived in Hillsborough around 11am completely bruised, weary and sea-sick! That has to be the worst sea crossing I have ever experienced going to Carriacou.  Roughly 70% of the passengers were in varying stages of moaning, shrieking and vomiting.  Poor JG was throwing up – very quietly and decorously I must admit.  Little YY, who initially was enjoying the roller-coaster ride, ended the trip clutching her barf-bag and in tears wailing for the boat to stop so she could “get off and go home”. Thank goodness for Gravol which I had to literally drug her with in order for her to get on the ferry on the return trip!

Seasickness aside we had a really nice, relaxing time. Carriacou is really beautiful.  The pace is slower than in Grenada but the people are friendlier and getting around is remarkably easy.  Below are some photos from the trip.

carriacou

St George

It starts to rain before we even leave St Georges

It starts to rain before we even leave St Georges

The Carenage

The Carenage, St George facing north

The Carenage, St George's facing north-west

The Carenage, St George facing north-west. You can see the Ivan-destroyed R.C. Cathedral in the background.

Rain descends on the west coast of Grenada - this is the last picture taken before rough seas and rain made photography impossible.

Rain descends on the west coast of Grenada - this is the last picture taken of the crossing before rough seas and rain made photography impossible.

Sandy Island

We are still ALIVE! Sandy Island off of the coast of Hillsborough, the capital of Carriacou

Carriacou Grand View Hotel

Carriacou Grand View Hotel

View of Hillsborough bay from poolside

View of Hillsborough bay from poolside

Yum! Breakfast that I did not have to make.

Yum! Breakfast that I did not have to make.

Heineken DIRECT FROM Holland! These are illegal to import in Grenada

Heineken DIRECT FROM Holland! These are illegal to import in Grenada

Fishing boat at Tyrrel Bay

Fishing boat at Tyrrel Bay

Liquor is incredibly cheap here.  I bought 2 of these for $59 but had seen them for as low as $55. They sell for $68 in Grenada.

Liquor is incredibly cheap here. I bought 2 of these for $59 but I saw them for as low as $55. They sell for $68+ here in Grenada.

On the pier waiting on the ferry for the trip back to Grenada.

On the pier waiting on the ferry for the trip back to Grenada.

Sandy Island again as we are departing Carricou.

Sandy Island again as we are departing Carricou.

Mabouya Island

Mabouya Island

Tyrrel Bay as seen from the sea.

Tyrrel Bay as seen from the sea.

Bird Rock and London Bridge

Bird Rock and London Bridge (I think!)

The approximate location of Kick em Jenny volcano

The approximate location of Kick em Jenny volcano, Frigate Island to the left

The Osprey

The morning after our return to Grenada the Osprey arrives in St George

Hope you enjoyed!

Posted in grenada, holidays, random, tropical weather
3 comments on “What I did on my Christmas vacation.
  1. I need a trip to Carriacou myself!

  2. abeni says:

    where r the pics of the YY”s?

  3. maria says:

    Does this mean I’m getting my oildown pics?? 😀

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
