Belated Christmas Post

Over the holidays I took quite a few photos with the intention of writing posts based on them.  Since we’re beginning the second week of the new year it’s about time I got a couple of those posts online before they become seriously outdated.

Christmas Day was a low-key family affair as usual.  My father made a fabulous pork roast. His secret is to stick cloves of garlic deep into the meat, pressure-cook it with a strange browning & seasoning mixture, and then put it in the oven to crisp up the fatty parts. Mmmm!  We also had roasted whole chickens (a turkey is too much meat for our small family), rice and peas, potates au gratin, home-made stuffing, greek style salad, my mum’s fabulous trifle and of course ginger beer, sorrel and black cake.

Yours truly was assigned the responsibility for making the potatoes and salad, as well as the most important part of any Christmas lunch – The Stuffing.  Not to blow my own horn but I am known to make a pretty good stuffing and this time was no different. 😀

First, we had to make sure the cook was well equipped!

libation-1

I have only just discovered this great sparkling wine from the Santa Carolina winery.  Not bad at all and at EC$19.75 a bottle it threatens to displace the more expensive Ballatore Gran Spumante as my go-to sparkling wine.

Here’s the primary ingredients being sauteed – fresh mushrooms, pumpkin, asparagus, onions, garlic cloves, chives & thyme and celery.

stuffing-1

As with any dish, you gotta add something that ties all the flavours together!

stuffing2-1Unfortunately I forgot to take a shot of the finished product. 😦 Take my word – it was great!

Gratuitous shot of my Potatoes au Gratin de YingYang

potatoesaugratin

Lunch was, of course, delicious and needless to say we were all suffering from severe ethnic fatigue afterwards.  I cleaned up in the gift department, scoring all the stuff on my (rather modest) wish list: New hubcaps and wipers for the car (don’t laugh at me!) a bottle of CKIN2U, household linens (can you tell I am old?) and clothes. Unfortuntely Santa wasn’t able to come through with the items at the very top of the wish list (#2: A house and #1: Winning the lottery) but it was a nice,  relaxing day with good food and family. What more could one want?

Posted in blah blah, blogging, food

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
