American Politics: McCain’s Speech

P.O.W.!

USA!

P.O.W.!

Drill baby drill!

P.O…… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz …………

Tagged with:
Posted in general stupidity, politics
5 comments on “American Politics: McCain’s Speech
  1. acrooms says:

    this is now on my desktop–thanks!

    and, i know i’m supposed to respect our veterans, but will someone please tell me what makes being a P.O.W. qualified to be president??

    anyway, if the republicans actually CARED about our vets, they might stop cutting veterans benefits, give them proper supplies and uniforms….

    ever heard of walter reid hospital? it’s a vet hospital that has more mismanagement, disgusting conditions, and poor level of care that most any regular hospital in the country. despicable.

  2. Stunner says:

    LOL! That is a funny picture.

  3. maria says:

    acrooms is right about benefits for Veterans. It’s disgusting. Right now, if return from Iraq suffering from PTSD, you have to wait something like six weeks for treatment. It’s beyond shameful.

    In my mind, being a POW disqualifies him. While I can respect his military service, six years in the Hanoi Hilton is what made him the unstable, deranged individual that he is today.

  4. yygda says:

    acrooms’ comment is particularly on-the-ball considering that the backdrop behind McCain during the first part of his speech was supposed to be Walter Reed Army Medical Center, but the darn production people screwed up and used a picture of Walter Reed Middle School [Haahahaaaahhhaaaaaaaaa!]. These people can’t even get that straight!

    Lack of veterans benefits is one thing, but the fact that McCain has consistently voted against all forms of benefits, including housing and insurance assistance for spouses of military personnel, should preclude him from even referencing war as a campaign talking point.

  5. maria says:

    McCain himself actually said that the reason he opposes the reinstatement of the G.I. Bill is that if military personnel had a chance to go to college they might not return to the military. What a cold thing to say. Especially when you consider that it was *his* generation who benefited very much from the G.I. Bill.

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
