American Politics: Sarah Palin and her nomination speech

A whole lot of low-class oral flatulence.

This article sums up my thoughts on the much anticipated Palin speech.

Yes, it was a great speech politically, and a great night for her family, but an empty speech for America — and for America’s families. It was defined by its lowest moment, Palin’s shameless lie about “the Bridge to Nowhere.”

And empty too for the millions around the world whose countries and economies, while they are not in or from America, are affected by every single foreign policy miss-step the U.S. makes.

It was a Speech to Nowhere because…well, I urge everyone to read the text, without Palin’s sharp delivery or her adoring fans in the crowd and in the press box, and tell me where there is any kind of policy at all — except for the short boilerplate passage on energy — or any mention of the issues that concern everyday Americans, including the No. 1 issue of the economy.

I hope America wakes up tomorrow and realizes that Sarah Palin’s words were rousing — and completely empty, that they offered no road map (let alone bridge) for America other than more of the bogus partisan name-calling that has gotten us into the mess that we’re in now.

On a totally superficial and irrelevant note, it’s getting on my nerves that both Sarah and Todd Palin seem incapable of holding their 4-month old son, preferring to palm him off constantly onto their babysitters other kids, except for the occasional photo-op. Grr….

Posted in general stupidity, politics
5 comments on “American Politics: Sarah Palin and her nomination speech
  1. jdid says:

    ya see the lil girl slicking down his hair last night? they panned in and then thought better lol.

    The speech was made by the response but it was about nothing. Not one real issue touched on alot of propaganda, lies and fear spewed.

  2. acrooms says:

    you know that the rumor is that the baby is actually the pregnant daughter’s first child? someone lays out the whole case here:

    http://www.ireport.com/docs/DOC-69834

    i know i shouldn’t help rumors spread but, well, i can’t help it this time.

  3. maria says:

    The Republicans equate policy-light/sarcasm-heavy speeches with foreign policy experience.

    Did you see last night’s edition of bedtime stories with Grandpa McCain? Could you believe they put him in front of a green background again?

    I’m so psyched, I’m registering to vote in Florida! I feel like my vote will mean more than it will in New York, which always goes Dem no matter what.

  4. yygda says:

    @ jdid – Nothing new. Totally the way the Republicans seem to operate. Light on substance, heavy on drama.

    @ acrooms – Actually, there’s also a train of thought that the daughter look POST-partum rather than pregnant. Hmmm…
    I’ll believe anything when it comes to Sarah Palin. She’s surpassing my bullshit-o-meter expectations.

    @ maria – Ah yes, Gramps McCreepy. I’m pleased you are voting especially in FL.
    BTW your ex-NY Mayor . . . I dunno . . . you sure y’all New Yorkers still wanna claim that man?

  5. maria says:

    You mean the crypt-keeper?
    He ain’t ours!

    Honestly, while Rudy was, at one time, very popular in NYC, New Yorkers remember the truth about him, that 9/11 saved his reputation when it was very much in need of saving. Then there are all his nasty business deals, his profiting off of tragedy, his disturbingly unscrupulous associations. His treatment of his ex-wife was so deplorable that his children didn’t speak to him for years. And don’t even get me started on his current wife, who is a classless gutterslut.

    One of my friends summed it up nicely when she said, “I didn’t realize how much I hated that man until I heard that speech”.

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
