American Politics: Sarah Palin

After a weekend spent cramming myself full of Sarah Palin info and trivia, I was poised to write a snippy post about the many reasons why Palin offends my sensibilities on many different levels. [Honestly, there is something I can’t put my finger on about this woman that fascinates, irrationally horrifies, and violently enrages me]. I had reams of data/speculation/gossip/commentary on topics ranging from her abuse of gubernatorial power, her position on how life began, the IsThatBabyHersOrHerDaughters Drama, to the stunning revelation that she kinda supports Alaska’s secession from the United States.

Imagine then my utmost delight/shock/surprise when while checking the Gustav coverage this afternoon on CNN, I am greeted with this headline TEEN DAUGHTER OF GOP VP PICK IS PREGNANT.

Hilarious!!!! People, I am here to tell you that when it comes to politics you CAN NOT make this shit up. Governor Palin is staunchly anti-birth control & prevention, pro-life [read: anti-choice] and is for “Christian family values” which includes teaching and preaching abstinence. Well, while she would like to impose those beliefs on American women, it amuses* me to no end that she will now have to live that belief in the full unrelenting glare of the media. Karma, as you can see, can be a serious bitch when she’s ready.

EDIT: Oh goody! It appears her Average Citizen husband was privy to confidential excutive meetings and emails.

EDIT #2: * I feel I should qualify what amuses me above.  Amuse may be the wrong word – bemused is more what I mean.  Make no bones about it, I feel very sympathetic towards Bristol, Sarah Palin’s daughter. Nothing about the situation that poor, young girl is in is amusing.  I find it even sadder that she will be marrying the father of her baby – at 17 years old, I can’t imagine having to have to deal with baby PLUS new spouse y’know? She’s 17! I can’t remember having a thought beyond school and partying when I was 17.

What I am bemused about is the rampant hypocrisy of the GOP & Sarah Palin’s political, religious and social beliefs. I am bemused that Palin accepted McCain’s offer of the VP slot knowing full well that this very personal, family issue would come to light and become the fodder for all manner of commentary and discussion.  How Palin and McCain could knowingly subject Bristol Palin to this kind of international scrutiny is beyond me.

Besides, the cynic in me knows all too well that if this was one of the Obama girls, the Republican Tar and Feathers Brigade, the same Republicans asking for “privacy” for the Palin Family, would be hauling ass to the South Side of Chicago, scarlet letter in hand.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in general stupidity, politics
7 comments on “American Politics: Sarah Palin
  1. m says:

    I personally am really glad I lived to witness the implosion of the Republican Party.

  2. lifeonarock says:

    THANK YOU for this post! You pretty much summed up my feelings on the whole Palin situation as well.

  3. lifeonarock says:

    Oh, and really, this article is one of the many many reasons why I love Obama:
    http://edition.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/09/01/obama.palin/index.html

  4. jdid says:

    you hit all the points there. excellent!

    I just feel sorry for the poor 17 year old yout who’s got caught up in this. This is beyond shotgun wedding, its like he has a nuclear weapon pointed at his head now.

  5. […] Necessary is not at all impressed by John McCain's pick for his running mate, while Grenadian Blah Bloh Blog says: “There is something I can't put my finger on about this woman that fascinates, […]

  6. yygda says:

    It’s a shame this poor girl has to be subjected to this, but it’s a small sacrifice to save the U.S., and by extension the REST of the world, from the clutches of 4 more years of right now.

  7. acrooms says:

    i am going to be on pins and needles until obama is elected and in the white house. really, i think i’m going to be nervous during his whole presidency (there’s a lot of wackos out there that might wish him harm).

    but this latest news cycle from inside the mccain camp has been making me smile inside and out. looks like abstinence-only education works pretty well, eh? sad stuff. palin also cut funding for unmarried teen mothers in her state, so she seems to be doing a great job so far.

    you might like this:

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
