Blog Action Day prelude 1

First in a BlahBlohBlog series for Blog Action Day ’08.

This is a video released by One.org, an organisation involved in global anti-poverty eradication.

ONE is an advocacy and campaigning organization supported by more than 2 million people and growing, from all walks of life all around the world, uniting as one against extreme poverty.

The video features actor Matt Damon mouthing the words of Michelle Obama, Cindy McCain and NY Mayor Michael Bloomberg; the original speakers’ voices are heard.

I’ve begun my research on poverty and let me tell you that after a day I’m already depressed and emotionally worn. I’ve said before and I’ll say again that we in the (English-speaking) Caribbean are blessed and incredibly lucky that we do not, after all is said and done, suffer from the kind of crippling socio-economic issues that so many tens of millions, hundreds of millions of people face the world over.

One.org‘s mission is simple:

In 2000, leaders from 189 nations signed on to the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), a set of eight ambitious targets designed to significantly reduce global poverty and disease by 2015.
.. snip..
Along with leaders, campaigns and citizens across the world, ONE is working to mobilize broad-based support for achieving the MDGs and holding world leaders to account for the targets and commitments they set to reach them.

I have signed up as a ONE member and now I’m encouraging you all to do the same. When I signed up I was directed to a page which would be emailed to my contacts so I have copied and pasted the email’s content below:

Join me in fighting poverty!

Hi,

This may look like any other email, but it is actually a crucial piece in the fight against extreme poverty.

I’m taking action with ONE, to help spread the word about the difference we can all make when we join together as one in the fight against extreme poverty. While there are many great organizations delivering direct assistance in Africa, ONE is an advocacy organization focused on making sure policymakers and politicians do their part in this important fight. Tens of millions of lives are at stake if they don’t.

So far more than 2 million people around the globe have joined ONE, and more people (like you?) are joining every day.

You can get involved by visiting:
http://www.one.org/

ONE members are making a difference by convincing world leaders to take the simple steps necessary to help the poorest people in the world work their way out of extreme poverty.

I hope that you’ll join me.

Thanks!

___________________

Yes, I hope you will join me.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in blog action day, de web, our world

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
