Blog Action Day 2008

I just came across this press release about Blog Action Day 2008.

Blog Action Day is an annual non-profit event that asks bloggers to simultaneously discuss a single issue each year on October 15th. The aim of the event is to trigger widespread discussion around a global issue through niche-focused articles that appeal to their respective audiences. The event began in 2007 when a group of bloggers asked each other, “What would happen if …?” and then decided to find out.

On October 15, 2008, bloggers everywhere will participate in the second annual Blog Action Day by blogging about poverty and by aiding poverty relief efforts. Several of the world’s most popular blogs have agreed to participate. In 2007, more than 20,000 blogs participated, along with many major corporations and international organizations. Anyone may register for free at http://blogactionday.org.

What a great idea! I’m on board – see my little B.A.D. badge over there –>. I hope some of my fellow Caribbean bloggers will sign up as well. Poverty, poverty relief and poverty elimination is especially significant for us here in the third world.

The press information about Blog Action Day 2008 indicates that some of the world’s most popular and influential bloggers such as Mashable.com, SmashingMagazine.com, Problogger.net, Copyblogger.com and ZenHabits.net are already on board for this year. I would like to see our powerhouse bloggers – Barbados Free Press, Caribbean Beat Blog, Taran Rampersad, Georgia Popplewell, Mad Bull, etc, etc. – getting involved as well. Moreso I am calling on all us “smaller bloggers” to aggressively lead the charge. On Blog Action Day on Wednesday October 15th, let us all commit some time and effort to not just blogging about poverty, but actually doing something about poverty. Donate, talk about it in your communities or at your workplace, write commentary and send to the newpapers for publication, volunteer your time, whatever suits you. Just as some people (like me!) are one or two paychecks away from the poor house, so too are some of our island nations one hurricane/flood/oil crisis/bad tourist season away from serious and crippling national poverty.

I’m in. Are you? Register at Blog Action Day 2008

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in caribbean, de web, our world
13 comments on “Blog Action Day 2008
  1. globewriter says:

    Hope you don’t mind but I have added you to my blogroll.Anyone who likes wine and cynicism that much deserves a place.

  2. Numalali says:

    Tanks for the info. I am in!

  3. jdid says:

    I dont like the term smaller bloggers, I prefer to be referred to as medium sized. ok 🙂

  4. Stunner says:

    Sounds like a good idea!

  5. yygda says:

    @ jdid: LOL! My humblest apologies oh most beloved one. *kiss kiss*

    @ all: So glad you guys are on board.

  6. acrooms says:

    me too!

  7. […] theme of this year's Blog Action Day is poverty and Grenadian Blah Bloh Blog is getting involved: “I hope some of my fellow Caribbean bloggers will sign up as well. […]

  8. abeni says:

    Am in..remind me

  9. Thanks for the reminder – registering now. I’ll do a monster post on poverty that day, probably posting at midnight.

  10. Oh, and by the way – bloggers do not have ‘size’. Audiences ebb and flow on the web… we’re just new media. 🙂

  11. yygda says:

    @ Taran: That’s true, but you will still always be one of the pioneers – if not THE pioneer – of Caribbean blogging. Yuh LARGE!

  12. optonboPsog says:

    Seldom I write comments but resource really cool

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
