Old Grenada Flag

I was browsing around online the other day and discovered an image of the pre-independence flag of Grenada, while we were an associated state from 1967 to 1974.

grenada associated state flag

This flag was adopted in 1967 when the island became a British associated state. It was replaced by the present flag when Grenada became independent in 1974. <…..> The emblem is the nutmeg which grows throughout Grenada (otherwise known as the Spice Island) and grows downwards inside of a yellow pod. The red in the emblem signifies the mace that grows on the outside of the nut and is also used as a spice.

Colour me ignorant but I never knew we had a country flag prior to independence – I thought we just fell under the Union Jack. Further research revealed that five different flags have been flown for Grenada!

Interesting trivia – the associated state flags of Grenada, St Vincent and St Kitts are all strikingly similar. It appears that the College of Arms may have been attempting to create a “family” of flags for the former West Indian Federation islands.

Grenada: blue – yellow – green horizontal with oval white borderd red in the centre (and an upside down flower in the white)
St Vincent: green – yellow – blue horizontal with lozenge white bordered blue in the centre (and a flower in the white) Apparently this flag was never used
St Kitts, Nevis, Anguilla: blue – yellow – green vertical black palm tree on the yellow area

Fascinating!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in grenada
7 comments on “Old Grenada Flag
  1. interesting topic! could you find another strange flag?

  2. jdid says:

    i never knew that. i jut assumed everyone flew the union jack prior to independence.

  3. kami says:

    Vincy changed its immediate post Independence flag for the 3 diamonds one. Apparently they complained that the first one was abused as a political symbol

  4. jche says:

    I lived in Grenada from 1969-1976 & remember the blue,yellow & green flag. I attended two schools whilst there, & remember the build up towards independence. There were spasmodic riots,sometimes with gunshots, late into the night. Some children stayed away from school due to looting & general troubles. I got caught up in a riot/looting spree with other school dudes & got pushed along by the hoardes of adults. we ended up in ‘Ever-Ready’ store. The store-room is in the loft. Being youths & adventurious, we got up there alright. To all those people who mobbed ‘Ever-Ready’s’ store, baying for Rice! Sugar! Flour! I apologise..!!
    I gave you Biscuits…, it was the only thing I could lift up there, & anyhow we liked biscuits & nothing to do with the ‘Marie Antoinette syndrome’ of, ‘Let them eat cake.’
    Thanks Mater-Pater, ya never saw that coming, what an adveture those year were.
    All schoolchildren had a competition to design the new flag, Which I didn’t win, and most at my school didn’t like the new design.
    We thought the Nutmeg in the corner was a lil childish compared to other losing designs.
    An incident which occurred when I first arrived on the island. We had a Sportsday, loads of schools were there packed into the Grandstand Stadium, the Premier was there, and I wouldn’t stand up to the Anthem&Flag, because it wasn’t the ‘Union Flag’ & my parents are UK military.
    This is my confusion, shouldn’t the ‘Union flag’ be flying in postion 1 with the old Grenadian flag to the left and lower, and the Anthem “God save the Queen”

  5. Michael Julien says:

    Excellent work!

    I remembered when I was “small” that there was another flag with a nutmeg on it. Asked my wife but she said “no”. By memory is not easily erased: I decided to search for it.

    Thanks for doing this. We need more people like you here!

    Best for Christmas and the New Year,
    Michael V. Julien
    Grenada

  6. teresa Metzler says:

    I am so happy to come across this while searching for the old flag, to hang in my office next to the current one. An interesting bit of history, thanks. I lived in Grenada from 1965 through 74.. I attended Convent and Mother Rose. I would love to buy an old Grenada flag, do you have any leads on how or where I can get one??? A very Merry Christmas and Best fo rthe New Year

  7. SEON says:

    That’s interesting. I never knew that. I actually like that flag.

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
