“It’s me damn money!”

No Grenadian blog would be complete without a video post of Doctor the Honourable Prime Minister Keith Mitchell’s proclamation about the Eric Resteiner Briefcase issue.

In a nutshell the Briefcase Scandal revolved around

The statement made by the Prime Minister, the Hon. Dr. Keith Mitchell, M.P., that he received the sum of approximately $15,000.00 US [NB: allegations are the figure was $150,000+) from one Eric Resteiner as reimbursement for expenses duly incurred by the said Prime Minister on behalf of himself and other officials of the Government of Grenada on official business of the said Government on a visit to certain European Countries and Kuwait

After much back and forth which included a farce of a commission of inquiry – The Cheltenham Commission – the P.M. made the following pronouncement at a rally in 2007.


Ahh! We prime minister! Me love him bad bad bad.

ps: Local Calypso King Scholar incorporated that infamous “It’s me damn money” soundbite into his 2007 hit Briefcase. Listen to a snippet of the song here.

UPDATE: The original Youtube video link was removed on or around June 18, 2008.  However it turns out that the New National Party themselves has a copy of this video in their own Youtube account (linked to above).  Their tagline for this video is “The PM making a few things clear”.

*eyeroll*

View other NNP Youtube videos here.

UPDATE#2: So . . .  I see a large upswing in traffic coming from SpiceislanderTalkshop these days. Y’all don’t be afraid to leave a comment – I promise I won’t bite. Or log IP addresses. 🙂

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in govt stupidity, lawsuits, politics
One comment on ““It’s me damn money!”
  1. jdid says:

    lol, you aint want nuttin with these west indian politicians

Leave a Reply

About BBB
yingyangHi there! Pam Northman* (aka BlahBlohBlog) here, live and direct from Grenada. I'm a 40something, uber-liberal, working, single mother. In my time off I indulge my web, TV & pop culture addiction, revel in my attempts at nerd-girlishness and moonlight as a passionate Caribbeanista.
*looooooong story!

Leave a comment. Drop me an email. Circle me on Google+. Or follow me on Twitter.
Who or What I’m Reading
I used to have a big, long blogroll but who cares about that these days? If you want to see who/what catches my interest, check out my Twitter following list. Plenty of cool, smart West Indian folks there.
Archives
